Compare TOEFL prep
We review two paid TOEFL prep options, Magoosh and Kaplan, and compare them head to head below. Whichever you choose, add ETS’s free official practice in the 2026 format, since the test was redesigned on January 21, 2026.
Sources: Magoosh’s pricing page, the publisher’s Kaplan listing, and ETS’s TOEFL site. Checked October 12, 2026.
| Magoosh | Kaplan Premium Plus 2026 | ETS free practice | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $109 (1 month) / $129 (6 months) | $29.99 list | Free |
| Built for the 2026 test | Yes, per Magoosh | Online material updated; book predates it | Yes |
| Official practice tests | Up to 10 | Not stated | Yes |
| Graded writing and speaking | Official ETS grading | Not stated | Not stated |
Common questions
Which TOEFL prep do you compare?
Magoosh and Kaplan’s TOEFL iBT Premium Plus 2026. ETS’s free official practice is a good addition to either.
What is the cheapest TOEFL prep?
Kaplan’s book at $29.99 list is the lower-cost paid option. Magoosh’s six-month plan is $129 but includes a $40 US registration voucher.
Why does 2026-format practice matter?
ETS redesigned the TOEFL iBT on January 21, 2026, with new tasks and a 1-6 score scale. Older material describes tasks that no longer exist.
Is there free official TOEFL practice?
ETS offers free official practice in the new format. See our free TOEFL resources page.
A $109-$129 online course built for the 2026 test, with official ETS grading, against a $29.99 book that predates the redesign.
→Both options ranked, with ETS's free practice test alongside.
→Official practice in the new format, and other free material.
→